Wow.  I am addicted to caffiene.  As I type this blog, I am drinking a very tall Monster.  Add to that the two cups of coffee that I drank earlier today….whew!  I’m in love.  Have you ever gone through your day with the energy of a 5 year old?  I have.  And I do.  And, don’t tell anyone, but I LIKE IT!!!  I guess if I’m gonna have a vice, this one isn’t that bad.  After all….the house is clean, the laundry is done, the homework is finished, the kids are happy, dinner is cooked…and it’s only 3:55 in the afternoon.  I looked up energy drinks online, and this is what it said.

 

“Bad reactions to energy drinks have been reported to U.S. poison control centers, Griffiths writes in the report, published in the journal Drug and Alcohol Dependence. From 2002 to 2004, he says, 41 cases of caffeine abuse from caffeine-enhanced beverages were reported.”—WebMD.com

“In Germany, where health officials have been tracking health effects of energy drinks since 2002, adverse events have included liver damage, seizures, racing heart rate, respiratory disorders and even death.”
Read more: http://healthland.time.com/2011/02/14/energy-drinks-may-harm-health/#ixzz1fben46Zv

 

 

I don’t really know how this makes me feel.  In the days in which I consistently hear my college aged peers talk about their “all nighters” with a round of adderall I believe that energy drinks are less potent and less dangerous than many other stimulants which are easily obtained.  (I’m not a doctor…this is just my opinion).  I do feel that life can have a tendency to slow us down, and caffiene is a harmless way to perk up my mornings, especially when it is cold outside and I curl up at the computer with a hot cup of coffee, loaded with way too much gingerbread creamer (try it…it’s so good!).  I also feel that an energy drink now and then is not going to harm me, but I am pretty strict with my kids when it comes to caffiene.  They are not allowed to drink it…period.  I know a lot of parents out there that give their kids coffee, cola, and iced tea, but I know that caffiene can stunt my children’s growth, not to mention the fact that I don’t need two psycho cracked out children running around.

Besides, there hasn’t been enough time to do much long term research on the harmfulness of energy drinks.  So…for now, I’m gonna go ahead and drink up, but of course, all things in moderation.  🙂

 

