So right now, my son is in the thralls of an intense meltdown.  It still amazes me the way that he can put so much effort and energy into such a seemingly small thing.

My son is passionate.  That’s one way I could describe him.  He really does everything with his whole heart.  It’s amazing the way he puts himself into things, and it will be a boon to him when he gets a little bit older.  Like, at this exact moment he is laying in the back doorway screaming,” I WANT THE BIG STICK!!  I WANT THE STICK!” Over and over and over.  Let me give you a little background on this story.

My daughter has been sick for the last few days.  I let them watch waaaaay too many cartoons and movies when they are sick, and by default, when one is sick, the other gets to watch the TV too.  Today, my daughter was feeling a bit better, so I ordered them to peel off their pjs and take their little butts outside so that they could get some sunshine and semi-clean air. (This is Lubbock, of course).

They get dressed and head outside, where they typically play very well together.  I sat down at the computer to check my e-mail and perhaps write another blog, when, not 5 minutes later, I hear the telltale “Owwww!  Ethan, that HURT!”

I wait for it.  The backdoor comes open violently and my daughter comes in with a pissed-off look on her face.  “MOMMY, ETHAN HIT ME!”

“It’s mine!” comes a little voice from outside.

I call them both inside to find out what all the ruckus it about.  Turns out, that windstorm that happened earlier this week left a  huge stick outside from the tree that both of the kids were trying to play with.  I decide that the only fair thing is for them to share it.  I am so King Solomon in this story.  They refuse to share it (of course), and so I have my daughter dispose of the thing over the back fence.

My. Son. Is. Fucking. Pissed.

Screaming his woes to the world he heads back outside.  All of a sudden…silence.

Something is wrong.

Ethan comes inside smiling from ear to ear.  I don’t know why my little monkey is so happy now, but I know that it can’t be good.  He looks a bit like Mini Me from Austin Powers right now.  I’m pretty sure he even had his pinky up by his mouth.

This JUST happened, btw.  I was writing this post when he came in with an evil grin.

He whispers something to me that I can’t quite figure out…something about sissy’s shoes are outside and she needs to find them.

My daughter retorts, “Nuh uh Ethan, my shoes are on my feet!”

Ethan’s shit-eating grin widens.  “Not your school shoes!”

Turns out my son is full of vengeance, somewhat like God.  He decided that in retaliation of Emily listening to me when I told her to throw the stick over the fence he was going to throw her brand new Sketchers over that very same fence into the alley behind our house.

I have to say that although I was pissed that he would compromise my money like that…it was pretty ingenious.  And don’t worry…they’re playing together as I type at the kitchen table.  But I think they’re arguing about sharing the black marker.  Wonder how that one’s gonna turn out?

Stay tuned….

