What is success?  Here is the definition that the web gave me:

suc·cess

[suhk-ses]

noun

1.

the favorable or prosperous termination of attempts or endeavors.
2.

the attainment of wealth, position, honors, or the like.
3.

a successful performance or achievement: The play was an instant success.
4.

a person or thing that is successful: She was a great success on the talk show.
5.

Obsolete. outcome.
Origin: 1530–40; < Latin successus, equivalent to succēd-, stem of succēdere to succeed + -tus suffix of v. action, with dt > ss

Related forms

suc·cess·less, adjective
suc·cess·less·ly, adverb
suc·cess·less·ness, noun
non·suc·cess, noun
pre·suc·cess, noun

Synonyms 2. achievement, fame, triumph.

So, what is success?  The favorable or prosperous termination of attempts or endeavors…basically, the dictionary is telling us to define success for ourselves.  For my son, a successful day is one in which he does not shit his pants.  For my daughter, it might be a day in which she succeeds in not having a complete emotional meltdown.  For others, it might be successfully feeding their family.

What throws me off on the definition though are the synonyms.  Achievement?  Maybe.  Fame?  Depends on who you are.  Leonardo DiCaprio is successful by this synonym.  Triumph?  Ted Bundy might be successful to this point.

My point is, success is what you define it to be.  We are all successful in our lives; the question is, are we happy with what we have successfully completed as well?  I struggle with that question, constantly.  The only answer that I can succesfully (how many times can I say this?) come up with is that on my death bed I want my kids to say that I was a good mom.

If I keep this in mind when I am worried about the little bullshit things in life like mopping the floor, or the grade I got on that test, or what some asshole thinks of me at work, I know that I am, in fact, entirely successful.  Each and every day.

